Lemon-Honey Vinaigrette: An All-Purpose Condiment

 I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July.  I spent the day poolside with some great friends and awesome food.  I want to share with you my recipe for a Lemon-Honey Vinaigrette that goes great on everything from salads to burger to grilled corn.  I worked this recipe out to a perfect formula.  Not many times will you see me give an exact measured out recipe.  This is one case where I will.  Also, you’ll notice that I use soy or canola oil in this recipe.  I love using olive oil, but I find that in this recipe it imparts too much flavor.  You want the lemon and honey to shine through. 

Zest of 2 Lemons
5 Tablespoons of Freshly Squeezed Lemon Juice
2 Tablespoons of Clover Honey
¼ Cup of Water
1 Cup Soy or Canola Oil
Salt and Cracked Black Pepper to Taste

In a food processor or blender add all of the ingredients except the oil.  Turn the processor or blender on.  Let the ingredients come together for about a minute or so.  With the machine still on, slowly add the oil to the processor or blender.  This will make an emulsion (An emulsion is a mixture of two liquids that normally do not mix, like water and oil).  Once all of the oil is add and distributed throughout the vinaigrette, turn off the machine.  Taste the vinaigrette and adjust the seasoning (salt and pepper) accordingly.  Transfer the vinaigrette from the machine to a squeeze bottle.  Store the vinaigrette in the refrigerator.  Shake the vinaigrette well before using. 

Enjoy!

Living to eat,
Tony Mangia

4 thoughts on “Lemon-Honey Vinaigrette: An All-Purpose Condiment

  1. I never use canola oil. The only oils I use are olive oils and grape seed oil, which has no flavor of its own and has a very high flashpoint. Grape seed oil is also the healthiest oil out there.

Leave a Reply

