I am a proud Italian-American!

As a proud Italian-American, I am always upset and disturbed whenever the negative stereotypes are brought to the fore.  I wanted to share with you a poem that I came across a number of years ago that spotlighted what a true Italian-American really is.  I know this particular blog is not food related but my Italian heritage is extremely important to me and shines in everything I do.  Enjoy!

I AM AN ITALIAN-AMERICAN
by Angelo Bianchi, Esq.

I am an Italian-American. My roots are deep in an ancient soil, drenched by the
Mediterranean sun, and watered by pure streams from snow capped mountains.
I am enriched by thousands of years of culture.
My hands are those of the mason, the artist, the man of the soil.
My thoughts have been recorded in the annals of Rome, the poetry of Virgil, the
creations of Dante, and the philosophy of Benedetto Croce.
I am an Italian-American, and
From my ancient world, I first spanned the seas to the New World.
I am Cristoforo Columbo.
I am the steel maker in Pittsburgh, the grower in the Imperial Valley of California,
the textile designer in Manhattan, the movie maker in Hollywood, the homemaker and the breadwinner in 10,000 communities.
I am an American without stint or reservation, loving this land as only one who
understands history, its agonies and its triumphs, and can love and serve it.
I will not be told that my contribution is any less nor my role as worthy
as that of any other American.
I will stand in support of this nation’s freedom and promise against all foes.
My heritage has dedicated me to this nation.
I am proud of my full heritage, and I shall remain worthy of it.
I am an Italian-American

2 thoughts on “I am a proud Italian-American!

Leave a Reply

