Vino è molto importante per me!

I want to make wine this year. I want to carry on traditions that are starting to disapper. When I was kid, I remember my father, God rest his soul, would make delicious homemade wine with his elderly paisan from the Old Country.

Growing up, there was always wine on the table. In our family, wine was considered an accompaniment to our meal. Wine was not made out to be evil or to get you drunk. We consumed it in moderation. Even as a kid, I remember I had a small glass with water and wine. There was more water than wine, but I was included in the entire family meal experience.

The problem nowadays is the society we live in worships over-consumption of everything. There’s also this young generation that feels the need to go out & party hard & get wasted. Maybe I’m a prude, but I never got into that “Jersey Shore” party scene. And thank God for that. So I guess the moral of the story is wine is not evil & and bane to society when consumed in the context of a meal with family & friends. So let’s raise a glass. Salute! Cent’anni!

Living to eat,
Tony Mangia

Leave a Reply

