Face your fears & fry up some chicken!

Fried Chicken with Yucca Salad

This evening I made fried chicken for the first time in my life!  For some this might be hard to believe.  I have always been intimidated by frying chicken.  I have always thought that fried chicken should be left to the pros, and I’m not refering to that Kentucky Colonel.  But after watching Chef Marcus Samuelsson prepare his version of fried chicken this past this Thursday night, I feel he gave me the power and belief in myself to fry some damn good chicken!  I know a bit corny, but true.

“You know I like my chicken fried…”

So last night I was thumbing through Marcus’ latest cookbook “New American Table” when I came across a recipe for fried chicken & yucca salad.  I decided to make the recipe for dinner this evening.  And I’m not trying to toot my own horn here, but it came out pretty damn good! 

Yucca Salad

My advice to you is to face your fears when it comes to a dish you are skeptical of or nervous to prepare. Like the Nike motto states, “Just Do It!” And have fun while you’re doing it.  Cooking at home for your family & friends should be fun!  Enjoy!

Living to eat,
Tony Mangia

Leave a Reply

