Tonight, Corrado’s in Wayne became Lidia’s Italy with a stopover in Greece!

PART I:

I wanted to make it 3 days in a row at Eataly, unfortunately I did not go.  I actually drove to the ferry terminal, but decided to turn around because it was almost 3 PM.  I did not feel like contending with rush hour traffic on my way back gome.  Instead, this evening, my wife and I went to Corrado’s in Wayne, NJ for a book signing with Lidia Mattichio Bastianich

The gentleman behind Lidia is her son-in-law Corrado Manuali.

There were well over 400 people at Corrado’s waiting for their chance to meet and get a book signed by the Queen of Italian Cooking.  We arrived after 7 pm, and were given number 364.  The line moved quickly and orderly.  By 8:30, I was getting my book signed by Lidia.  She was so friendly and pleasant.  We briefly talked about Eataly.  I have to be honest, the event was well-organized and ran very smoothly.  Hats off to Frank Corrado and the crew at Corrado’s.  Great job!

Talking about Eataly NYC

PART II:

Upon leaving Corrado’s, we headed to the new Greek restaurant in the same shopping plaza called Zorba, Greek Eatery.  The food was good and reasonably priced.  The saganaki, which is pan-fried cheese, was really nice.  It was briny and tart with a fresh taste.  I love squeezing lemon juice all over it. 

Saganaki

In my opinion, the weakest dish was the spanakopita, which is phyllo dough stuffed with spinach and feta.  I could be wrong but the spinach seemed like it was the frozen kind not the fresh (not that frozen is a horrible thing).  It was also a little under seasoned.  To the dishes credit, I did enjoy the phyllo.

Spanakopita

With that being said the loukaniko (Greek sausage) was exceptional.  It was served with sautéed peppers and onions and a sprinkling of feta.  The flavors of the sausage were earthy and a touch spicy.  It was totally different from an Italian style sausage. 

Loukaniko (Greek sausage)

The falafel was also done well.  There were robust flavors of sumac and cumin, two wonderful and often underused spices.  These are two spices that I use in my version of kofta kebob.

Falafel

I am not an expert on Greek food, but overall, it was a pleasant dining experience.  By the way, our server was helpful and attentive.  If you’re in the area, it’s worth a try.

Zorba, Greek Eatery
223 Berdan Avenue
(in the Corrado’s Shopping Plaza)
Wayne, NJ 07470-3236
(973) 628-7777

P.S. Stay tuned for blogs about my 2 days at Eataly (including lunches at La Piazza & Manzo Ristorante) & our dinners at Salumeria Rosi & Picnic, the Restaurant! Enjoy!

Living to eat,
Tony Mangia

Leave a Reply

