“It’s gonna be a long walk home…”

This being the 9th anniversary of the tragic events of September 11, 2001, I feel like I cannot add anything more to what’s already been said over the past 9 years.  The wounds are still open.  They will never be completely healed, but we’ve learned to live with them.  But sitting here in front of my computer listening to the music of Bruce Springsteen, I feel compelled to write something, anything.  I know this is a blog that focuses on food, but it’s also a glimpse into my life and my head. 

I was not personally effected by the events of that day, however, I was a affected.  It made me realize that life is way too short to sweat the small stuff.  We have to live for the moment.  We have to expect hard times to come into our lives.  But it’s how we deal with those hard times that will make or break us. 

Life is a journey home.  I know it sounds cliche, but it’s the truth.  Home can be anything you want it to be: Paradise, Heaven, Nirvana, Jannah,Valhalla or maybe even back where we started.  And on this journey, hard times come and we breakdown.  Many of us do not know how to deal with these “breakdowns”.  We can sit by the side of the road, broken and busted, or we can dust ourselves off and proceed toward our final destination. 

We should never forget what brought us down that road.  But we also shouldn’t walk backward facing the past and bumping haphazardly into the future.  Instead, we have to keep our eyes on the road, and occasionally use the rearview mirror if we need a little push or if we need to remember what started us on that journey.  Some journeys are long, while others are entirely too short.  But it boils down to what we did on the journey.  Did we stop and help other travellers on the way?  Did we get lost?  Did we breakdown?  Did we take too many detours?  Did we speed down the road with blinders on?  These are questions we need to ask ourselves.  These are the questions we need to constantly contemplate on our journey.

I want to close by sharing with you the Catholic prayer of “Eternal Rest”. As Catholics, we recite this prayer at funerals as a way of praying for the peace of the departed souls:

“Eternal rest grant unto them, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon them. May the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen.”

God Bless America and the men and women who’ve given the ultimate sacrife to preserve our freedom!

Thank you,
Tony Mangia

P.S. I know this post is kind of all over the place with ideas, thoughts and emotions. But I wrote it as it was floating around my head. So I do apologize for not having one set topic.

Leave a Reply

