Super Bowl Sunday’s Super Easy Roast Beef!

Arrosto Fiorentino aka Roast Beef

On Super Bowl Sunday, most people are eating the usual suspects: chicken wings, chips and dip, maybe a sub/hero or a couple of American style pizza pies.  I, on the other hand, went against this big game fare in favor of something a little more Italian or should I say Florentine.  Attending Dario Cecchini’s (the world’s greatest butcher) recent butchery demonstration in NYC, I’ve had a hankering for meat, and in particular beef and to be even more specific roast beef aka arrosto fiorentino. (To read about Dario’s demonstration click here.)  I’m talking about just that: beef that is roasted in a hot oven.  This was a no frills recipe that was super easy and tasted better than anything you could buy pre-made.

I started out with a 2 ½ pound piece of eye round.  The eye round comes from the leg of a cow and is quite tender.  It is important for the meat to be room temperature before cooking, so I took it out of the refrigerator two hours prior to cooking.  As I’ve mentioned previously, if the meat is cold inside and out it will not cook evenly. 

After the two hours resting at room temperature, I cranked up my convection oven to 400°F.  I put the roast into a metal roasting pan and popped it in the oven.  Simple, huh?  I set the timer for 30 minutes and moved onto the condiment for the roast.  I put a cup of Tuscan extra virgin olive oil into a bowl along with 1 tablespoon of Sicilian sea salt, & chopped fresh sage (a big handful) & rosemary (3 sprigs).  I mixed the contents thoroughly and waited for the beef to finish. 

Once the timer went off, I removed the roast from the oven, poured the olive oil mixture over it and tented it with some foil.  I let the roast rest for 25 minutes before I started slicing it.  The roast was a perfect medium, which is actually a little more than I prefer it cooked.  But I have to be honest, when I served it, I drizzled the meat with the herbed olive oil and Mamma Mia was it great, even though it was a bit over cooked!  That herbed olive oil really made the dish something special!  Along with the roast beef, I also made sautéed baby artichokes and a sunchoke (Jerusalem artichoke) salad with walnut gremolata.  These were great accompaniments to the main attraction.

Arrosto Fiorentino, Sautéed Baby Artichokes and a Sunchoke (Jerusalem artichoke) Salad with Walnut Gremolata

I hope you will try out this simple roast beef recipe.  It’s great for a festive Sunday dinner or for a simple weeknight supper.  Enjoy!  Ciao for now!

Living to eat,
Tony Mangia

Leave a Reply

