D. Coluccio & Sons is the real deal!!

Louis Coluccio & Me at his store in Brooklyn

Last week after long last, I visited D. Coluccio & Sons on 60th Street in Brooklyn, New York.  Coluccio’s is a third generation Italian importer, distributor & supermarket.  I’ve always heard great things about Coluccio’s but never made the trek out to Brooklyn from New Jersey.  To be honest, in my 28 years I’ve only been to Brooklyn a handful of times. 

What other supermarket appreciates their customers so much that they take a picture of them?  Only D. Coluccio & Sons!!

So on Monday I asked my friend Chris if he wanted to take a ride with me to Coluccio’s.  He agreed so we hit the road.  I always thought Brooklyn was another world, but it only took us like 30 minutes from my door to Coluccio’s. 

Upon walking into this supermarket, I was blown away by the amount of quality Italian products that lined the shelves.  To be honest, I didn’t have a shopping list, so I was a bit overwhelmed.  I wasn’t leaving empty handed, so I perused the aisles and picked up a little bit of this and a little bit of that; mainly extra virgin olive oil, pasta, tuna fish in olive oil (the only way to eat it), some biscotti and Brooklyn Gum (until that day the only other place I’ve seen this gum was in Italy).  As I was shopping, Louis Coluccio Jr. came out and personally welcomed us to his store.  We hit it off right away.  Louis is a true gentleman and a loyal friend.  He treated us like family with open arms and a perfect shot of espresso.  Of course, we talked food and places we should try in Brooklyn.  It was time for lunch, so we made our final purchases, said our good-byes to Louis and headed out to Piattini, a Sicilian restaurant in Bay Ridge. 

D. Coluccio & Sons Quality Italian Foods

Old school supermarkets, Italian or otherwise, like Coluccio’s are unfortunately part of a dying breed.  I mean here in Jersey, we have very few places like this left.  We need to frequent these mom and pop shops more often.  You’re not going to find the products these stores carry in any corporate supermarket, and if you do they’ll charge you an arm and a leg for it.  Now that I’ve been bitten by the Brooklyn bug, I plan on making numerous trips to get my food fix, whether it’s picking up hard to find products at Coluccio’s or a lunch or dinner at one of Brooklyn’s dining destinations.  If you haven’t visited Coluccio’s yet, don’t drag your feet.  Get out there and do some shopping.  Trust me, you’ll be happy you did!  Enjoy!

D. Coluccio & Sons

1214 60th Street

Brooklyn, NY 11219

(718) 436-6700

www.dcoluccioandsons.com

Living to eat,
Tony Mangia

Leave a Reply

