Ranting about Meat!!

Oreo, the dairy calf
(Photo from http://www.facebook.com/animalacres)
©2011 Cameron O’Steen, all rights reserved

A friend of mine posted a really adorable photo of a dairy calf named Oreo that recently passed away on her Facebook page.  And I have to be honest, seeing that helpless face seriously made me second guess my love for meat.  It actually shook me up a bit.

Now I’m not saying I am becoming a vegan or even a vegetarian, I just think that we all need to eat responsibly.  We need to make sure the animals we eat are born, raised, life & die in a humane matter.  I’ve said it before & I’ll say it again, we need to know where our food comes from.  It’s great to get that cheap ground meat at your local supermarket, but do you really know how that meat got there?

I know some of my Facebook friends got a little upset when I posted a picture of a lamb’s head that I cooked and ate a few weeks back.  I wrote a subsequent blog post about the topic entitled “Don’t Knock It ‘Til You Try It”.  I, at least, am not afraid to eat the whole animal.  No part of the animal should be wasted.  Yes, that animal was “sacrificed” to be put on my plate; so it deserves nothing but respect from its preparation to my fork.  With that said, I urge you all to eat responsibly.  I know it’s tough to eat this way in these tough economic times, but it really is the right thing to do.  By eating this way, you are taking an active role in the food chain.  It is what we did for thousands of years, so let’s go back to that way of eating.  Enjoy!

Living to eat,
Tony Mangia

One thought on “Ranting about Meat!!

  1. I appreciate this post, Tony…that despite not being a veg, you admit that we need to eat responsibly and humanely. I could argue the side that there is nothing quite humane about taking the life of an animal to satisfy our palate…and with the way animals are mass produced these days for our overconsumption of meat is nothing but cruel. but I do honestly admire that you have taken the first step to embrace the compassion in your heart to recognize that yes, these are living beings, and yes, we have a responsibility to ensure their life was lived in comfort.

Leave a Reply

